Limerick Golf Club is located at Ballyclough, on the southern outskirts of Limerick City and is one of the oldest golf clubs in Ireland, founded in the same year as the Golfing Union of Ireland, 1891. The course and clubhouse are located on the original site of Roxboro Castle and grounds. The club boasts a mature parkland course, with a number of holes designed by Dr. Alister McKenzie, architect of Lahinch and Augusta National, and others by John D. Harris. The current layout measures 6500 yards in length and has a par of 72. Limerick has one of the largest memberships in the country with over 1300 members.

Limerick Golf Club has a proud tradition in competitive golf in Ireland, having won 16 national titles, and was the first Irish club to win a European title at senior level. The most recent Irish titles were the Barton Shield, All-Ireland Fourball Championship and Ladies Senior Foursomes in 2019. It has played host to many championships over the years, not least an exhibition match in the 1930s which included the famous American golfer, Walter Hagen, and our own John Burke.

The JP McManus Invitational Pro-Am, the biggest pro-am event of its kind in Europe, had its home at Limerick Golf Club from 1990, with the last staging in July 2000. The field included some of the biggest players in the game, such as Tiger Woods and Mark O'Meara, and was an enormous success, raising over €19 million for local charities. Both of these players returned to Limerick Golf Club in 2001 and were conferred with Honorary Life Membership. Tiger Woods presented the flag from the 18th green of The 2000 Open Championship, held at St. Andrews, to the Club.

A new, modern clubhouse was opened by Padraig Harrington in August 2007 and offers magnificent views over a large portion of the golf course. Full catering and bar services are provided and the restaurant has a reputation for very high quality presentation and service.


1891 - 1896Sir Alexander Shaw1985 - 1986P.J. McGuigan2007Liam Marnell
1902 - 1927Sir Charles Barrington1987 - 1988D.C. Webster2008Joe Daly
1928 - 1937Major R. De Ros Rose1989 - 1990J.A. O'Donovan2009Dermot Molony
1938 - 1950P. N. Treacy1991Michael McCurtain2010Paddy O'Neill
1951 - 1965John Corboy1992 - 1993Bryan McGann2011Rev. Gary Bluett
1966 - 1967W. F. Treacy1994 - 1995Noel McDonogh2012Maeve Earlie
1968 - 1969Jack O'Mara1996 - 1997Don O'Malley2013Bernard Collins
1970 - 1971J. C. Thompson1998 - 1999Dr John Leahy2014Austin Reid
1972 - 1973Dr. M.J. Roberts2000Paul Gibson2015Marion Collins
1974W.H. O' Donnell2001Gary Geary2016Terry Clancy
1975 - 1976Dr. R.F. Holmes2002Vincent Finucane2017John Tucker
1977 - 1978P. J. McPolin2003John C. O'Meara2018Paula Comber
1979 - 1980T. P. Morris2004Eddie Hopkins2019Ger O'Donoghue
1981 - 1982Sean O'Neill2005Liam Dolan2020
1983 - 1984D. F. O'Donovan2006Joe Hayes2021
Course Status
Currently closed
30.12.2020 21:53
View Status
Golf Courses closed under Level 5 Restrictions, effective from midnight tonight (30th Dec)
Book a Tee Time
Ready to book?

Our booking system will make it easy for you.
  • 2021-04-12
  • 2021-04-13
  • 2021-04-14
  • 2021-04-15
  • 2021-04-16
Need to know more weather details? Click here to see the weather for the next 5 days.